We Still Remember

remembering-9-11

9-11-16

It was 15 years ago. One of the darkest days in the history of our country. Every year I think back to that day. Where I was, what I was doing. The person I was before. I know many others do too, and Lord willing, we always will.

My soul still remembers

And sinks within me.

This I recall to my mind,

Therefore I have hope.

Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed,

Because His compassions fail not.

They are new every morning;

Great is Your faithfulness.

– Lamentations 3:20-23

I never fully understood the significance of any of the memorial days we have until 9-11. But they are important. Every life is precious, and we must not allow people to be forgotten. The author of Lamentations thinks back to difficult times in his life. He becomes sad again at the memory, and that’s not a bad thing.

We should remember the difficult times. They help teach us about the mercy of God. Because we have trouble in this life, it reminds us of what we are doing here. We aren’t living for the now. We are living for the future. It’s easy to become short-sighted, self-reliant, and complacent. But we can’t afford to do that. We are on this earth to reach Heaven, and everything we do in life should be done to get us and others closer.

God has promised that He will always be with us. Yes, terrible things will still happen to us. We must rely on our Father to get through them. Isaiah 41:10 says, “Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” No matter what we are going through, we can trust that God can carry us through.

Today as our country remembers, and in days of remembrance that are personal to you, look to God for comfort. He has given us friends and family to help us, but He can comfort us like no one else. Whatever you are feeling today, know that God sees you as an individual. John 10:3 says, “To him the doorkeeper opens, and the sheep hear his voice; and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.” He knows the hair of your head and the thoughts of your heart, and He has a plan for you.

We suffered great losses 15 years ago. Let’s live every day in such a way that this tragedy matters. Let’s love harder, think deeper, serve more selflessly, and be mindful of the pain of those around us. Life is a wild ride, but we’re all in it together. Reach out to someone today and let them know they matter.

You matter.

May the Lord bless and keep you,

Heather

Have something to say? Chime in!

