What’s Under the Hood?

what's under the hood.JPG

10-9-16

Honesty time. I know nothing about cars. No, I take that back. I know three things: how to drive them as long as I’m not in a big city, where the gas goes, and when to have someone else change the oil. The picture up there from under my vehicle? I guarantee to you each of those parts is important. So I’ve been told.

One day this week as I was driving to work, in my vehicle with all the important parts, I saw an eighteen wheeler pulled over to the emergency lane. The driver had the hood up and was walking around the cab. Which naturally made me think of a Christian application. 🙂

When we break down, either emotionally or in a sinful way, the world can see it. But what caused that to happen isn’t so obvious.

For from within, out of the heart of men, proceed evil thoughts, adulteries, fornications, murders, thefts, covetousness, wickedness, deceit, lewdness, an evil eye, blasphemy, pride, foolishness. All these evil things come from within and defile a man. – Mark 7:21-23

Let’s say that one day I’m typing a blog post and my computer decides it’s going to automatically update, so I lose all my work. Now, there are a few options of how to handle this. I could laugh, take our beagle Flash for a walk, and come back and retype. Or I could say some choice words and fling my computer out the window. For all you Anne of Green Gables fans out there, remember the scene of Anne breaking her slate over Gilbert’s head?

It’s not hard to figure out which of those is the better option. I have been known to threaten my laptop with such a fate. Someone driving by our house who saw a computer sailing over the porch would probably wonder what caused such a drastic course of action. The thing is, it wasn’t the computer crash that caused it. It’s what came before.

It’s all the hours of reading, TV, phone conversations, Facebook watching, and time spent in thought by myself that decided what I would do. Those are the things I put into myself that make me who I am. It isn’t what we may look like on the outside. I’m sure the truck looked fine until whichever of those very important part(s) began doing whatever they did to cause a problem. The breakdown likely didn’t happen because of that last second. Maybe it happened because, over all the miles and miles of mountain driving, a line gradually jiggled loose (all you mechanics out there forgive me if that’s not a plausible guess).

So let’s be careful what we put in ourselves. Eventually the computer will break down, the macaroni will boil over, and the air conditioner will freeze. What’s in you ready to come out?

Chime in! How do you make sure what’s going to come out in those moments is good?

May the Lord bless and keep you,

Heather

P.S. Here’s a bonus picture of my Speckle cat just because she’s cute. She helped me write the post this morning. 🙂

speck-helping-me-type

Have something to say? Chime in!

