Who can we trust?

trust

5-21-17

It’s a topsy turvy kind of world out there. Trust sometimes seems like one of those antiquated customs from back in the day when you could go to the store and buy something on credit. Not the card kind. Back when you could tell the storekeeper you’d be good for the bill in a week. They said okay, and tell your family hello for me. Unfortunately, we can’t always count on people. But we can count on God.

One of the reasons we can have confidence in God is because He does what He says He will. All through the Bible, when God made promises, He kept them. There are archeological evidences that the Bible, and God’s Word, is true. In fact, there is actually one thing God can’t do. Hebrews 6:18 says it is impossible for God to lie. So when God says something, we can trust it completely.

As for God, His way is perfect; The word of the Lord is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him. – Psalms 18:30

Sometimes I don’t have confidence in people because I don’t know what their motives are. When it comes to God, we can know that He wants only the best for us. One of the things I was determined to find in a partner if I got married was someone I knew would always stand up for me, and I held out for that. We don’t have to worry about that with God.

The God of my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, My stronghold and my refuge; My Savior, You save me from violence. – 2 Samuel 22:3

We can also trust God because He has a long-term plan for us. God created this world, and us, out of love. He knew from the beginning that we would mess up and need forgiveness, but He did it anyway. He made a way that we can have life forever, and He wants to share His home with us.

For to this end we both labor and suffer reproach, because we trust in the living God, who is the Savior of all men, especially of those who believe. – 1 Timothy 4:10

Family members may let us down. Friends can hurt us. Sometimes even our church family will disappoint us. What we can count on is that if we follow God, He will always be there for us and take care of us. The best time to begin building that relationship is now. It’s harder to trust someone you just met; walking with God should be a lifelong journey that gets deeper as we go.

What are some of the reasons you trust God? Chime in!

May the Lord bless and keep you,

Heather

Have something to say? Chime in!

